Virtuoso @ Facebook

My Alert Pay

Google News

Sunday, December 6, 2009

Christmas Hat (Illustrator Tutorial and Gift for Visitors)


Christmas Hat

christmas hatIn my previous tutorial I showed how to make a Christmas tree, this tutorial shows you how draw a furry Christmas hat.
Version: Illustrator 9+... Who Carez??????

1. HAT

Start your hat by drawing 2 basic paths and filling them with Linear gradient (red to darker-red).
hat paths

2. SHADOW

Make a path (shadow path) like the image on the left. Select the top part of the hat, Copy &Paste in Front (Ctrl+F). Now, select the copied path and the shadow path, hold down Alt key and select Intersect shape areas in Pathfinder pallate.
intersect shape areas
Your path should looks like the image on the left. Repeat this step to make another shadow path for the bottom part of the hat. Then fill these 2 shadow paths with Linear gradient (red to darker-red), in your Transparency pallate, select Multiply.
select multiply

3. FUR

With your Pen Tool, roughly draw a path like the image on the left and fill it with grey color. Go to Effect > Distort & Transform > Roughen
apply roughen effect

ROUGHEN OPTIONS

In your Roughen window, enter the following setting: Size=8%, Detail=95/in, select Cornerpoints. You may click on the Preview check box to preview your result.
roughen effect options
Make a copy of the grey path by holding down Alt + drag (you may use Copy & Paste if you like) and fill it with white. Scale it down a bit and bring it up slightly above the grey path. Select the top part of the hat and its shadow, bring them to front by Object > Arrange > Bring to Front (Ctrl+Shift+]).
copy fur
Use the Ellipse Tool to make the circle and repeat the previous step to make the furry ball.
furry ball

FINAL

Your final illustration should looks like the image shown below.
final christmas hat

HAVE FUN

Now, have fun with your Christmas hat!
                                                                              have fun with your christmas hat
                

Christmas Tree


Christmas Tree



christmas treeThis tutorial shows you how to make a beautiful Christmas tree with Adobe Illustrator.
Version: Illustrator 9+

1. CREATE THE TREE FOUNDATION

First, roughly create the tree path with Pen Tool and fill it with (green-darker green) gradient. Go to Effect > Distort & Transform > Roughen
tree body

ROUGHEN OPTIONS

When the Roughen options window popup, enter the following values: Size: 5%, Detail: 100/in and select Points=Corner, then click OK.
roughen options

2. CREATE THE ART BRUSH

Now we need to make a New Art Brush for the tree branches. With the Pen Tool, make a path as shown below(1), fill with dark green, and apply the same Roughen effect as the previous step. Your path now should look like path(2). Duplicate path(2) by ALT+Drag or Copy & Paste, vertically scale it down a bit, and change it to lighter tone of green(3). Repeat this step, duplicate one more path and fill it with a even lighter tone of green(4).
art brush paths

NEW ART BRUSH

Select these 3 paths and drag it to the Brushes Library to make a New Art Brush.
new art brush

ART BRUSH OPTIONS

Leave everything as default, but select Tints and Shades from the Colorization Method drop down menu.
art brush options

3. TREE BRANCHES

With the Pen Tool, create some wavily stroke paths and fill stroke color with green. Then apply these paths with the Art Brush you’ve created in the previous step. Adjust the Opacity between 40-50% so it blends with the tree. If you want bigger tree branches, apply thicker stroke weight, thinner stroke = smaller branches. Play around with the Opacity and Stroke Weight and try to make the tree looks as natural as possible.
tree branches

4. CHRISTMAS BALLS

Create various size and gradient Christmas balls with the Ellipse Tool. Place some on top of the tree, send some to the back, and put some behind the branches.
christmas tree balls

5. LIGHT BULBS

The tree still looks too plain, we need some more decorative lights. Create some light bulbs as shown on the left, drag it to the Brushes Library to make a New Scatter Brush.
new scatter brush

SCATTER BRUSH OPTIONS

When the Scatter Brush Options window popup, select Random for all options and enter the range values as shown below.
scatter brush options

6. TREE LIGHTS

With the Pen Tool, roughly draw a zig zag path from the top to bottom, and apply the Scatter Brush you’ve created in the previous step. Notice how the light bulbs are randomly rendered base on the range values you’ve entered in the Scatter Brush Options, and you can change these setting at any time by double click on the Library object. If you want to have more lights, create another path and apply the same Scatter Brush.
christmas tree lights

FINAL

Download the source file now and see how it is done!
final christmas tree
This is it !

This Tree Is just a gift I want to Present All Of Visitors.

Keep Visiting ! for the more and the best..

If you people need something to draw like logo and Website and Layouts.. Ask Us..
Suggest Us


Wednesday, December 2, 2009

Yahoo brings Facebook Connect into its sites


Yahoo brings Facebook Connect into its sites


Yahoo is bringing Facebook into just about all of its Web sites, allowing users to update their Facebook status and share news items with friends right from the Yahoo page.

The company announced the integration of Facebook Connect across several key Yahoo Web sites including Mail, News, Sports, and Finance. The idea is to drive even more readers to Yahoo's network of sites--the second largest in the U.S.--by making it easier for them to share things they like with their Facebook friends, some of whom may not have seen the Yahoo item otherwise.
Yahoo already offers a few hooks into Facebook, but this partnership strengthens the relationship between the two sites. The integration will take awhile, however; Yahoo said not to expect the process to begin until the first half of next year.
It foreshadowed the Facebook Connect integration at an event in August, when Yahoo announced social-networking features within properties such as Mail and Messenger. Those updates were restricted to friends within the Yahoo network, however. Facebook and Twitter are where the social-networking junkies congregate.

Tuesday, December 1, 2009

David Laplante Art. I lyk this guy..


preview

Use Illustrator to Create a Fun, 3D, Character Logo

Dec 1st in Character Design, Designing by David Laplante
In this tutorial we'll use illustrators 3D tool to create text with depth. We'll give the letters personality by placing them at angles and choosing a fun font. We'll add a crazy rabbit character and unify all the colors as we add simple shading. Lastly, we'll give this fun logo a sticker effect. We cover quite a bit of ground in this tutorial, so fire up Illustrator and let's begin!
PG

Author: David Laplante

I am one of the owner and Art director of Koleo.ca, a small graphic design studio located in Quebec / Canada. I used to draw since I was kid and became addicted to Illustrator and Photoshop.

Final Image Preview

Below is the final image we will be working towards. Want access to the full Vector Source files and downloadable copies of every tutorial, including this one? Join Vector Plus for just 9$ a month.

Tutorial Details

  • Program: Adobe illustrator CS4
  • Difficulty: Intermediate
  • Estimated Completion Time: 1.5 hours

Step 1

Let's open a new document in Illustrator (File > New) and select the size "Letter" (but you can choose any size you want). I used the RGB color mode for this one but if you want to use it for printing you should choose CMYK.

Step 2

We will start with the 3D looking font. First, find a nice font (In this tutorial I use Lamebrain BRK, then be sure to have enough space between each letter (I used 100 here), and go to Type > Create Outlines.

Step 3

Take the dot on the "i" away by using the Direct Selection Tool and add a stroke to the text. Be sure to select Round Cap and Round Join in the stroke box to get a smoother effect.

Step 4

Select the text and go to Path > Outline Stroke.

Step 5

Then go to Object > Ungroup. Select one of the letters and click Unite in the Pathfinder box. Do the same for each letter.

Step 6

To get a nice cartoon effect, you can select each letter and move, rotate, and scale a bit.

Step 7

It's time now to make the 3D effect. I changed the color of the text to red so it's will be easier to see the 3D effect on them. Select a letter and go to Effect > 3D > Extrude & Bevel.

Step 8

In the 3D Extrude & Bevel panel, check the Preview option and choose an Extrude Depth (I used the default). Then you can move the box to get the angle you want. You can also change the perspective. do the same for each letter and change the angle a bit for each one.

Step 9

For each letter done, select it and go to Object > Expand Appearance.

Step 10

You will see some white space between the shapes, but don't worry, we are going to take it away. Select a letter and hit Shift + Command + G (Object > Ungroup) twice. Then select only the front shape of the letter (ex. the light red "C") and make a copy (Command + C).
Select the whole letter, including the front shape, and add a small stroke (0,5) with the Round Cap and Round Join selected. Go to Object > Path > Outline Stroke, open the Pathfinder box, and click on Unite. When those steps are done, paste the front shape's copy back on top (Command + F). You need to do the same for each letter again.

Step 11

You now have your 3D effect! I changed the color of the shapes before the red made me crazy.

Step 12

Remember that we deleted the dot on the "i" previously? Let's create a nice red star using the Star Tool!

Step 13

Repeat Steps 7 to 10 to get it in 3D and then change the colors.

Step 14

Now add a black stroke to the text. Select everything, copy (Command + C) and paste it to the back (Command + B). Click on Unite in the Pathfinder box.

Step 15

Add a black 10 pt stroke!

Step 16

Go to Object > Path > Outline Stroke and click on Unite in the Pathfinder box.

Step 17

Double-click on the black shape to get into it and create a shape to cover every part left in white.

Step 18

Select the black shape and the new one and click on "Unite" in the Pathfinder box. Double-click outside of the shape, to get back to the text.

Step 19

To add some effect to the text, create some round shapes.

Step 20

Select the front letters in the text and click on Unite in the Pathfinder box. Make a copy of the shape in front (Command + C and Command + F). Select that shape and the round one (in green) and click on Intersect in the Pathfinder box, while holding Alt. Then click on Expand. Do the same with the star.

Step 21

Use some light colors to get a nice effect.

Step 22

For the rabbit part, I will go a bit faster. I think there are enough tutorials about drawing vectors around here. Some will start from a hand sketch, but I prefer to start straight in Illustrator. So let's trace the lines of the Character by using the Pen Tool, like I did here.

Step 23

An easy way to create shadows is to make a copy of your shape (an arm here), paste it in front (Command + F), and then trace a new shape over it, and by selecting the copy and the new shape, click on Intersect in the Pathfinder box.

Step 24

When the lines are done, choose the colors, and don't forget to add a nice black stroke in behind your character!

Step 25

When your character is done, create two round shapes in the back.

Step 26

Select the black stroke of your text, make a copy, and then paste it in front. Select one of the round shapes with the copy of the stroke and click on Intersect in the Pathfinder box. Do the same for the second shape.

Step 27

Use the Direct Selection Tool to delete the lowest part of each shape.

Step 28

Use the Pen Tool to draw some short lines around the shapes and choose a brush in the Brush Libraries (Window > Brush Libraries > Artistic > Artistic_ink). Change the stroke Weight to get the effect you want. Make some lines for the first round shape (brown) and some for the second one (black).
Select the lines you made and go to Object > Expand Appearance. Select all the lines in brown with the brown round shape and click Unify in the Pathfinder box. Do the same for the black lines with the black round shapes. Select both final shapes and send them to back (Object > Arrange > Send to Back).

Step 29

The Grunge effect is done, but we will now add a white stroke behind the whole logo to give it a sticker look. Select everything, make a copy and paste it to back (Command + B). Click on Unify in the Pathfinder palette. As you can see, the Pathfinder palette is one of my best friends! ;-)

Step 30

Change the color of this shape so you can see it, and add a stroke with a weight of 8 pt. As seen before, go to Object > Path > Outline Stroke and then click again on Unify.

Step 31

To look like a sticker, it needs to be ONE shape. So double-click on the shape to get in and draw shapes to hide the white parts and also to connect the smaller shapes to the big one. Select all your shapes and click on Unify.

Step 32

Now that you have one big shape, change the color to white, and then double-click outside it to get back to your main illustration.

Step 33

Select that white shape, copy it to back (Command + C and Command + B) and move it a bit to the right and to the bottom. Change the color to black. Go to Effect > Blur > Gaussian Blur.

Step 34

I used a Radius of 7.2 pixels here.

Step 35

In the Transparency palette select Multiply and put the Opacity at 50%.

Conclusion

You can now add a nice background or color and it's done! I hope you enjoyed this tutorial!
Subscribe to the Vectortuts+ RSS Feed to stay up to date with the latest vector tutorials and articles.

Search This Blog

Google Analytics